JØRGEN JOHANSON

My feedback

  1. 3 votes
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    4 comments  ·  Report Bugs  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    JØRGEN JOHANSON commented  · 

    Yes, this is very annoying. It has been like this at least from version 9 (I am currently using version 9 since version 10 is not usable at the moment due to the color management problem).

    Running on Windows 10.

    It definitely seems to have something to do with the use of the ALT key. I use ALT-TAB a lot switching between Bridge and other programs (like Photoshop). Here is a sequence that demonstrates the problem:

    1) Start Photoshop
    2) Start Bridge
    3) LEFT and RIGHT keys work as they should in Bridge (moving to the previous/next thumbnail in the filmstrip)
    4) Switch to Photoshop using ALT-TAB
    5) Switch back to Bridge using ALT-TAB
    6) The LEFT and RIGHT no longer works (no longer possible to move to previous/next thumbnail)
    7a) Hit ESC or ALT, then LEFT/RIGHT works again
    7b) Or just repeat going to Photoshop and then back to Bridge (using ALT-TAB twice)

    UPDATE: An even simpler sequence:

    1) Start Photoshop
    2) Start Bridge
    3) LEFT and RIGHT keys work as they should in Bridge (moving to the previous/next thumbnail in the filmstrip)
    4) Hit and release the ALT-key
    5) The LEFT and RIGHT no longer works (no longer possible to move to previous/next thumbnail)
    6) Hit and release the ALT-key
    7) The LEFT/RIGHT-keys work again

    This boils down to:

    When toggling between apps using ALT-TAB, Bridge keeps the ALT state in the menu bar (see the underscore of shortcut-keys in the menu bar) even if TAB is pressed while holding down ALT. Photoshop does not do that (pressing TAB while holding down ALT clears the menu bar shortcut state).

    JØRGEN JOHANSON supported this idea  · 
  2. 1 vote
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Feature Request  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    JØRGEN JOHANSON shared this idea  · 
  3. 3 votes
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Feature Request  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    JØRGEN JOHANSON supported this idea  · 
  4. 16 votes
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    7 comments  ·  Report Bugs » THUMBNAILS AND PREVIEWS  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    JØRGEN JOHANSON commented  · 

    Some additional info:

    1) The new Bridge may show outdated previews

    From the observation regarding that Bridge prefers the JPEG version over a PNG version of the thumbnail/preview file of the same PSD file in the cache, it follows that you may actually see the preview an old/earlier version of a PSD file in Bridge.
    This seems indeed to be the case. I just made a new "plain" PSD file (see next item). Bridge shows a correct preview and has made proper JPEG versions of thumbnails/preview files in its cache.
    I then made changes to the same PSD file to produce the preview problem of the new Bridge (see next item). Bridge now changes the preview to show oversaturated colors etc. It also made new PNG thumbnail/preview files in its cache. There are now both JPEG and PNG versions of the same PSD file in the cache.
    I then made additional (large) changes to the PSD file to make easily distinguishable from the original. While Bridge is still running the preview now reflects the new changes. However, when exiting and restarting Bridge, it will revert back to using the (old) JPEG version of the preview! Now Bridge shows an old version of the PSD file not reflecting the new changes (which are only in the PNG version of the thumbnail/preview files)!

    2) What triggers the new erroneous behavior

    After some experiments it seems that it is not the number of layers (more then 1) that creates bad previews (via PNG files in the cache). I have added several adjustment layers, image/raster/bitmap layers and still got no problems with previews. "Maximize Compatibility" on/off etc. What seems to trigger the problem seems to be an unlocked or no background layer. When I saw the problem for the first time, I was making a change to a PSD file with a single layer with a Smart Object (opening a Raw file with "Open Object" in ACR, yielding a single layer with a smart object with no background layer).

    To recap: step 6) above, “unlock the background layer”, seem to be the trigger.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    JØRGEN JOHANSON commented  · 

    It seems that when the new Bridge creates thumbnails, standard previews or 100% previews for new or updated files, it makes PNG files in the cache for certain layered PSD files, like the ones you mention (should have been JPEG files as it used to be). Not good since the PNG files are both large and not color managed (PNG does not support embedded color profiles).

    Since Bridge 2019 and 2020 shares the same cache location:
    - currently on Windows: C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Bridge\Cache\v36
    updating thumbnails/previews using Bridge 2019 will repair the thumbnails/previews (by making proper JPEG files in the cache).

    Under the "v36" folder in the cache:
    folder "256": thumbnails / small previews
    folder "1024": large previews (like "Monitor-Size Previews)
    folder "full": 100% previews" (if "Keep 100% Previews in Cache")

    I also observed that when the new Bridge makes the PNG thumbnails/preview cache files it will leave a possible existing JPEG version of the same file. When the new Bridge shows thumbnails/previews and there are both a PNG and a JPEG version of the same (PSD) file in the cache, it seems to use the (correct) JPEG version. Note however if a change is made to a (PSD) file while Bridge is running that the preview shown by Bridge will turn wrong. However, when restarting Bridge the correct preview will again show (since the OK JPEG version of the preview is still in the cache). Only after a cache clear and a cache rebuild (which generates only PNG files) will the new Bridge use the (incorrect) PNG version from the cache.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    JØRGEN JOHANSON commented  · 
    JØRGEN JOHANSON shared this idea  · 
  5. 3 votes
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  Report Bugs » PREVIEW PANEL  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    JØRGEN JOHANSON supported this idea  · 
  6. 4 votes
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    BUG- FIX RELEASED  ·  3 comments  ·  Report Bugs » THUMBNAILS AND PREVIEWS  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    JØRGEN JOHANSON supported this idea  · 

Feedback and Knowledge Base